This is the only permit most people will ever need AND it is also our basic Firearms 101 class! Do not let anyone sell you on spending more time and money on the more expensive 8 hour class, if you do not need it. Our inexpensive 2 hour class will also take away some of the confusion about new permit and carry laws in TN. There is NO written test to stress over, and NO costly live fire qualification, save your precious ammo! LOW STRESS! Take this class from our friendly Mom and Pop shop in scenic Wears Valley. This permit has reciprocity* with 34+- other States., allows you to conceal carry AND you will also be able to open carry as of July 1, 2021 (See reciprocity links at the bottom of this page).
(Exceptions: If you are an employee at a property owned, operated, or controlled by the public institution of higher education(some colleges, universities, private schools) at which you are employed, and you want to be able to POSSIBLY carry a concealed firearm, or you are a first responder, or you frequently visit North Dakota or Nebraska (ie trucker), you should consider getting the Enhanced Handgun Carry Permit with the 8 hour class, described further down this page.)
This two hour TN Conceal Carry Permit class takes place at our location in Wears Valley, Sevier County where we offer the unique opportunity for you to qualify on our firearms simulator! The price is $45 for the State mandated firearms safety class, and $65 for the permit (if you decide to get the permit). Start by taking our class, then we issue you a certificate that you simply take to Motor Vehicles to finish the paperwork necessary to get your TN Concealed Carry Permit! We can get you scheduled and on your way usually within a day or two!
1) Review the information on the State of TN website regarding eligibility and and make sure you qualify for a State of TN carry permit and/or TN Permitless Carry.: https://www.tn.gov/safety/tnhp/handgun/eligibilityrequirements.html
2) If you are military, you can check your eligibility to see if you even need to take the class at all. Some military do elect to take this class anyway, so that they are specifically informed about TN law. About half the class is TN law. Here is the military link: https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/safety/documents/handgun/EHCPTrainingRequirements.pdf
3) Motor Vehicles/TN Homeland Security will require the following for proof of Citizenship and Residency if you want to proceed with getting your permit: https://www.tn.gov/content/tn/safety/driver-services/classd/dlcitizen.html
Why wait until the next national emergency? Schedule your time and date here today: If the reservation system says to "try again later", it might be because that particular class filled up before I could remove it from this web page. Try another date.
Although you can reserve a seat in a class with your credit card, please bring CASH for the balance the day of your class.
Saturday December 18th 2:00p.m.https://akvat.com/ola/services/wednesday-tn-concealed-carry-permit-class-firearms-101
Monday January 3rd 2:00p.m. https://akvat.com/ola/services/wednesday-tn-concealed-carry-permit-class-firearms-101
Saturday January 8th 2:00p.m. https://akvat.com/ola/services/wednesday-tn-concealed-carry-permit-class-firearms-101
Friday January 21st 2:00p..m. https://akvat.com/ola/services/wednesday-tn-concealed-carry-permit-class-firearms-101
Friday February 4th 2:00p.m. https://akvat.com/ola/services/wednesday-tn-concealed-carry-permit-class-firearms-101
Saturday February 19th 2:00p.m. https://akvat.com/ola/services/wednesday-tn-concealed-carry-permit-class-firearms-101
Saturday March 12th 2:00p.m. https://akvat.com/ola/services/wednesday-tn-concealed-carry-permit-class-firearms-101
Friday March 18th 2:00p.m. https://akvat.com/ola/services/wednesday-tn-concealed-carry-permit-class-firearms-101
Monday March 28th 2:00p.m.https://akvat.com/ola/services/wednesday-tn-concealed-carry-permit-class-firearms-101
New dates are added every day or two and go quickly, so sign up when you see it!
Using Firefox? Links to our products not working properly ? Call or text us at (865) 776-0373 for assistance.
With the new TN Permitless/Constitutional Carry law that went into effect 7/1/2021, we do not know how quickly law enforcement and others will be trained to know what the exceptions to this law are, especially where school zones, parks, campgrounds, recreational areas, beltways and greenways are concerned. In addition, it is easier to explain to a Police Officer the gun you have if you have a permit, than if you do not have a permit. The Police have no way of knowing if you can pass a background check if you do not have a permit. Having the less expensive TN Concealed Carry Permit (2 hour $45), protects you against those uncertainties. A good CC class will also give you a TN legal starting point, to help you steer clear of confusing legal "gottcha's", so you can be comfortable in knowing you are not breaking some complex law. We are adding new CC class dates all the time.
Call us if you need help deciding what permit is best for you, hopefully the description below helps with your decision.
THE ENHANCED PERMIT has the same RECIPROCITY* as the less expensive TN Concealed Carry Permit described at the top of this page, with the addition of North Dakota and Nebraska. This permit is for both conceal and OPEN carry. The special open carry option (which is what makes this permit more expensive and requires more class time) becomes a moot point after the Permitless (Constitutional) carry law goes into effect 7/1/2021. A FEW people may benefit by getting this permit over the less expensive TN Concealed Carry permit (top of page). People who WILL benefit with the Enhanced Permit are those of you who work at a property owned, operated, or controlled by the public institution of higher education(some colleges, universities, private schools) at which you are employed (and you want to be able to POSSIBLY carry a concealed firearm), or you are a first responder, or you frequently visit North Dakota or Nebraska (ie trucker). If none of this is part of your life, you will get the coverage you need from the less expensive TN Concealed Carry Permit combined with Permitless Carry when it goes into effect 7/1/2021. (We explain it all in class).
The ENHANCED permit takes more time out of your day (8 hours) which is mandatory for Enhanced permit. The first 5 hours of the TN carry permit class takes place at our location in Wears Valley, Sevier County and there is a 50 question written test you must pass or you have to take the class over. There is also a live-fire qualification afterward, that you must also pass while firing 50 rounds. The Enhanced class and permit cost more, $75 for the mandatory class, and $100-300+ for the permit. If you fail the test or qualification, you need to take the whole class over again.
WE ARE NOT PUBLICLY POSTING DATES FOR ENHANCED PERMIT CLASSES. PLEASE CALL US IF YOU WANT A CUSTOM PRIVATE CLASS FOR YOUR GROUP OF 4-6 PEOPLE.
The total cost of the class is $75 per person. Be sure you reserve a seat with a $25 deposit for the appropriate TN Carry Permit CCW classes date,.
TN Enhanced Carry Permit, CCW Classes, Basic Concealed Carry, Sevier County, Wears Valley, Kodak.
FEES: There is a non-refundable booking fee to reserve a seat for this class that will be applied to your class fee when you show up. The remainder is due the date of the class cash or credit. Our site uses PayPal payments, but you do not need a PayPal, just scroll down and will see "Credit Card" option. If you do not receive a detailed confirmation email from us within 24 hours of making payment, please CALL US on the phone. The remainder of payment due is cash or credit only. No checks please.
*RECIPROCITY - this is where States other than TN recognize your carry permit and allow you to carry in their State. Information about current reciprocity agreements can be found on the State of TN website. There are at least 13 states where TN permit holders can carry, by default, because those states are constitutional carry states. TN also has many formal agreements with other states, as well as informal agreements adding up to over 30 States TN carry permit holders can carry in, many in the South East. KNOW BEFORE YOU GO. Reciprocity can change at any time.
The State of TN has been awesome by providing us this new and updated grid showing reciprocity across all 50 States, for both the Enhanced and Concealed Carry Permits.
US Handgun Law has current information that can be matched against the State of TN Information, and other States information. Please take the time to read the information on this page, it is well laid out and gives you the straight, no-nonsense status and some details that the State of TN website does not have detailed.